Private Equity Fees: What Investors Actually Pay

The headline fee rarely tells the whole story. Compare costs across the investment structure, then examine fund benchmarks, negotiated terms, and their effect on investor returns.

CapitalPad GuidesInvestment Costs
Reviewed September 15, 2026Sources

An investment can show an attractive return before the investor sees the full bill. There may be costs inside the company, fees paid to the investment manager, and a separate charge in the vehicle through which the investor participates. Looking only at the headline management fee can miss the part that changes the outcome.

Private equity fees include management fees, carried interest, transaction expenses, and administration or access charges, depending on the structure. A useful comparison follows each cost from the level where it is charged to the cash the investor ultimately receives.

This CapitalPad guide explains private equity fees, their effect on investor cash flows, and how to compare investment terms. The reference section brings together fee benchmarks, institutional concessions, and published schedules.

What fees do private equity investors pay?

Private equity investors can bear recurring management charges, a share of profits paid as carried interest, fund or vehicle operating expenses, and transaction-related costs. Some are billed directly; others reduce the value or cash available inside the investment.

Swipe the table to see every column.

The main private equity cost categories
CostWhat it generally pays forWhat to establish
Management feeOngoing investment managementRate, base, frequency, and whether the base changes over time
Carried interest or promoteA contractual share of investment profitsCapital-return priority, hurdle, catch-up, tiers, and clawback
Transaction expensesDiligence, legal work, financing, and closingWho bears completed and unsuccessful transaction costs
Vehicle administrationAccounting, tax preparation, investor records, and reportingFixed or percentage charges, annual costs, and special expenses
Access or distribution chargesIntermediation or a separate investment layerWhether they are additional to underlying fund or sponsor costs

Offering documents should explain the fees and expenses that govern the investment. The SEC’s private equity fund guidance identifies those disclosures as part of the documents an investor receives when becoming a limited partner.1

That still leaves an analytical job: determine whether a quoted return is before or after each expense. A return labeled “net” without identifying net to whom can be hard to compare.

Where costs sit in the ownership chain

A private equity investment can have more than one economic layer. Company expenses affect company cash flow; sponsor or fund economics affect the cash allocated to capital partners; investor-vehicle charges affect what reaches the final participant.

Follow the cash through each layer

The same expense should enter a return calculation only once.

Company or acquisition

Operating costs, debt service, transaction expenses, and agreed company-level charges

Sponsor or fund

Management economics, profit allocation, and fund expenses under the governing terms

Investor vehicle

Administration, access charges, and any additional profit participation

CapitalPad explanatory diagram. Structures differ; some combine these functions or omit a layer.

If a sponsor’s fee has already reduced the acquisition’s projected proceeds, subtracting it again from the investor’s return understates that return. If the illustration stops before the investor vehicle’s expenses, failing to subtract those expenses overstates it. The solution is a reconciliation, not a guess.

How management fees and carried interest work

A management fee is charged against a defined base over time. Carried interest allocates a share of profits according to an agreed waterfall. The rate alone does not fully describe either charge.

The management fee base matters

A 2% fee on committed capital produces a different bill from 2% on invested capital or net asset value. A fund may change its base after the investment period, while an investor vehicle may use a different method entirely. Ask for the schedule across the expected life of the investment, including extensions.

The waterfall determines when carry is earned

Carried interest can depend on returning capital, satisfying a preferred return, applying a catch-up, and reaching additional performance tiers. A whole-fund waterfall and a deal-by-deal waterfall may also pay carry at different times.

Fee offsets matter as well. Some agreements offset specified transaction or monitoring fees against management fees. ILPA’s principles and reporting resources emphasize visibility into fee income, expenses, and carried interest; the actual offset and allocation rules must be read in the agreement.2, 3

A worked comparison of two fee structures

Assume a hypothetical $100,000 investment produces $300,000 at the end of five years, after all underlying investment costs but before the two investor-vehicle charges compared here. Both arrangements allocate 20% of the $200,000 investment profit to carry. That leaves $260,000 paid to the investor before separately paid management or administration charges.

Structure A charges a one-time 2% fee at entry. Structure B charges 2% of the original $100,000 at the end of each of five years. Fees are paid in addition to the investment; neither structure offsets those fees against carried interest in this illustration.

Swipe the table to see every column.

Hypothetical five-year investor cash flows, USD
Assumption or resultA: one-time chargeB: annual charge
Capital invested in the asset$100,000$100,000
Proceeds before compared vehicle charges$300,000$300,000
Carry: 20% × $200,000 profit$40,000$40,000
Cash distributed to investor$260,000$260,000
Fees paid separately over five years$2,000$10,000
Total investor cash paid$102,000$110,000
Investor cash profit$158,000$150,000
Cash received ÷ all cash paid2.55x2.36x

CapitalPad calculation, rounded to two decimal places. This is a hypothetical fee comparison, not a CapitalPad offering, forecast, or market-standard fee schedule. No interim distributions, taxes, extra expenses, or change in the annual fee base are assumed. The cash multiple includes separately paid fees in its denominator and does not account for the timing of payments as IRR does.

The underlying investment outcome is identical. The $8,000 difference in cash profit comes entirely from the assumed fees. A comparison using only the $100,000 investment as its denominator would miss part of the investor’s outlay.

This does not establish that a one-time charge is always preferable. A manager earning more gross value, a different carry arrangement, a lower recurring rate, or a fee base that declines can change the result. Compare the complete economics and the investment itself.

Which private equity fees are easy to overlook?

The easiest costs to miss are those charged at another level or under circumstances that do not appear in a simple base-case projection. Ask about unsuccessful acquisitions, fund extensions, follow-on investments, and extraordinary legal or administrative work.

Broken-deal costs are one example. Someone may have to pay for diligence and legal work even when an acquisition does not close. The allocation can depend on which fund, sponsor, or vehicle commissioned the work and what its documents permit.

A feeder fund can create another layer without changing the underlying manager’s charges. A company-level monitoring fee may affect cash available for distributions. Tax preparation may be included in annual administration or billed separately. None should be assumed absent merely because the headline says “no management fee.”

The practical request is a full expense schedule and a sample gross-to-net reconciliation. Identify fixed charges, percentage charges, contingencies, and the entity responsible for each.

How CapitalPad describes its investor fees

CapitalPad is a private equity co-investment group through which accredited investors can invest in lower middle market private equity on a deal-by-deal basis. Its investor overview states a one-time 1.5% administration fee, no annual management fee, and 20% carry after investors receive their full initial capital back.4

Those are CapitalPad’s published investor-level terms. They should not be read as a statement that the underlying acquisition has no sponsor fees, financing costs, or other expenses. Review the specific deal’s economics and the applicable vehicle documents to understand the complete investment.

The CapitalPad investor overview explains participation. A useful fee review asks how much capital goes to work, which costs are already reflected in the projection, and how company proceeds become investor cash.

Common questions about private equity fees

Are all co-investments free of management fees and carry?

No. Some institutional arrangements have favorable economics, while others charge fees or profit participation. An investment through a separate vehicle may add costs even when the underlying co-investment has reduced sponsor fees.

Does a preferred return guarantee I earn that return?

No. A preferred return establishes distribution priority under the waterfall. It does not guarantee the investment will generate enough cash to pay it.

Is carried interest an annual fee?

Carried interest is a share of profits under agreed terms, rather than a charge that necessarily accrues every year. Timing depends on realizations and the waterfall.

Why can gross and net MOIC differ?

Fees, expenses, profit participation, and the definition of invested capital can differ between the two figures. Ask for the precise numerator, denominator, and investment layer before comparing multiples.

Fee data and reference tables

Private equity fee data and published benchmarks

CapitalPad’s fee comparison separates fund survey findings, institutional fee concessions, and published investment terms. The figures below describe specific samples and structures. A management fee benchmark measures one charge, not the investor’s complete cost.

Management fee benchmarks by structure

Swipe the table to see every column.

Reported private equity management fees by investment structure
StructureReported feeMeasure, period, and scope
Private equity partnerships1.75%–2.00%Median investment-period rates across strategies in Callan’s 2024 study; 413 partnerships offered during 2018–2024.5
Private equity funds of funds0.76% / 0.70%Average investment-period / post-investment-period fees; 29 funds in the same Callan study.5
Private equity secondaries funds1.07% / 1.04%Average investment-period / post-investment-period fees; 27 funds in the same Callan study.5
Private equity GP-led continuation transactions0.85%Average management fee for the PE GP-led subset of Mercer’s 2021–2025 secondary-transaction analysis.6

These are source-reported management fee rates. Fund-of-funds fees sit above underlying fund economics. Mercer’s broader study covered 148 private equity and real asset transactions; the size of its PE-only fee subset is not stated. Medians, averages, fund fees, and transaction-level fees are kept distinct.

The reported rate becomes useful only when paired with the fee base. A percentage charged on commitments during the investment period can produce a different dollar cost from the same percentage on remaining invested capital later in the fund’s life.

How large LP commitments affect fee terms

In Paul, Weiss’s April 2024 survey, size-based fee discounts generally began at commitments of US$100 million or more. That is a discount threshold, separate from the minimum needed to enter a fund.7

Swipe the table to see every column.

Fee concessions in the Paul, Weiss 2024 fundraising survey
TermShare of surveyed fundsWhat it means
Commitment-size fee discounts40%Offered management fee discounts tied to commitment size.
Early-closing fee discounts38%Offered discounts linked to subscribing at an early closing.
Full transaction-fee offset98%Offset 100% of the fund’s allocable transaction fees against management fees.

Source: Paul, Weiss, April 2024 survey. More than 50 recently raised, predominantly U.S. funds, each targeting at least US$2.5 billion. Based on fund agreements and offering materials; side letters were excluded.7

Published private equity fees: annual charges, upfront costs, and carry

CapitalPad’s comparison below separates recurring management fees, one-time charges, and carry or incentive allocations across eight published schedules. The buyout fund examples come from public pension investment reports; CVC’s terms come from its prospectus. CapitalPad’s row describes its own investor-level terms for individual private equity co-investments.

Swipe the table to see every column.

Eight published private equity fee schedules, compiled by CapitalPad; sources checked September 15, 2026
Fund or investment arrangementAnnual management feeOne-time administration or entry chargeCarry or incentive allocation
CapitalPad private equity co-investments Deal-by-deal investing for accredited investors. Public investor terms, checked September 15, 2026.40% No annual management fee.1.5% once Administration fee per investment.20% carry After the investor’s initial capital is fully returned.
Bain Capital Fund XIV, Class A Buyout fund. New Jersey investment report, January 23, 2025.81.50% During the investment period; later, graduated rates on remaining invested capital. Initial fee base not specified in the public summary.Not stated20% carry 7% hurdle.
Bain Capital Fund XIV, Class B Alternative fee class in the same January 2025 report.80.75% During the investment period; later, 0.75% of remaining invested capital. Initial fee base not specified in the public summary.Not stated30% carry 7% hurdle.
Bregal Sagemount V-B Growth-focused private equity fund. Connecticut investment materials, January 14, 2026.92.00% Of committed capital; later, net invested capital. Falls to 1.75% of net invested capital if extended beyond 11 years.Not stated20% carry 8% preferred return; American waterfall.
Tenex Capital Partners IV-A Buyout fund. New Jersey investment report, April 19, 2024.102.00% Of committed capital during the investment period; later, 1.75% of invested capital.Not stated20% carry 8% hurdle.
WCAS XV Healthcare and technology buyout fund. Connecticut investment materials, May 13, 2026.111.50% Of commitments during the investment period; later, 1.25% of adjusted capital commitments. Before early-close and commitment-size discounts.Not stated20% carry 8% preferred return; American waterfall.
Stellex Capital Partners III Middle market buyout fund. New Jersey investment report, April 24, 2025.122.00% Of committed capital; later, actively invested capital. A 0.15 percentage-point discount applies to commitments of $100 million or more.Not stated20% carry 8% hurdle.
CVC PES SICAV – CVC-PE, Class B Evergreen private equity vehicle. September 2025 prospectus; class-specific terms.131.00% Of net asset value annually. Published standard rate; prospectus also describes a launch-period waiver.Intermediary-dependent Subscription or placement charges may apply.15% incentive allocation Defined total-return calculation; 5% hurdle, catch-up, and high-water mark. Measured annually.

Selected published schedules, not a market average or an all-in cost ranking. “Not stated” means the public summary does not specify an entry charge; it does not mean zero. Institutional reports may describe historical or negotiated terms. Fund expenses, fee offsets, catch-ups, and distribution rules can affect actual costs. CapitalPad’s stated charges do not include every expense of the underlying investment or transaction. CapitalPad is both the compiler and one of the listed investment groups.

Two distinctions stand out. CapitalPad’s 1.5% administration charge applies once per investment, with no annual management fee at its participation layer. Bain’s two classes show a different tradeoff: reducing the investment-period management fee from 1.50% to 0.75% increases carry from 20% to 30%, while both classes retain a 7% hurdle.4, 8 Neither a lower management fee nor a lower carry rate, considered alone, determines the investor’s total cost.

The same 2% rate can produce three different bills

Annual management fee under alternative fee bases

Hypothetical position: $1,000,000 committed, $600,000 invested, and $900,000 in net asset value.

2% of commitments

$20,000
2% × $1,000,000

2% of invested capital

$12,000
2% × $600,000

2% of net asset value

$18,000
2% × $900,000

CapitalPad calculation. Three alternative annual fee arrangements applied to the same illustrative position; the charges are not cumulative. Bases are held constant for one year. Carry, other expenses, offsets, and changes in value are excluded. This is an illustration, not a market fee estimate or a CapitalPad offering.

The comparison explains why a fee quote needs both a percentage and a definition. The five-year cash-flow example above shows the separate effect of charging a fee once or every year.

Sources and approach

CapitalPad prepared the cost explanations, comparisons, and hypothetical calculations. The reference tables combine published fund studies, a continuation-transaction analysis, public pension investment reports, a prospectus, and CapitalPad’s investor materials. Sample periods, measurement methods, fee bases, and investment layers remain separate. The named schedules distinguish annual fees, one-time charges, and profit participation; an undisclosed charge is not treated as zero. CapitalPad did not conduct the underlying surveys or calculate a blended industry fee. Published materials were checked September 15, 2026; historical and negotiated terms retain their source dates and qualifications. CapitalPad’s investor terms describe its own participation layer and are identified separately from underlying investment expenses.

Referencing this guide

When using CapitalPad’s fee comparisons or calculations, credit CapitalPad and link to this guide or the relevant table. Retain the original study attribution, sample period, and fee definition when citing third-party findings. The illustrations are hypothetical, not reported investment results.

CapitalPad. Private Equity Fees: What Investors Actually Pay. Reviewed September 15, 2026.

Sources and references

  1. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, Investor.gov: Private Equity Funds. Fund structure, eligibility, illiquidity, fees, and disclosures. Source
  2. Institutional Limited Partners Association, ILPA Principles 3.0 (2019). Guidance on governance, expenses, alignment, and co-investment allocations. Industry guidance, not a description of every offering. Source
  3. Institutional Limited Partners Association, ILPA Reporting Template. Fee, expense, and carried-interest reporting guidance. Source
  4. CapitalPad, Investor Overview. Published participation and investor fee terms; checked September 15, 2026. Source
  5. Callan, 2024 Private Equity Fees and Terms Study. Published summary, August 27, 2024. Source
  6. Mercer, Secondary investment strategies: continuation or conflict? Analysis of 2021–2025 transactions; public summary checked September 15, 2026. Source
  7. Paul, Weiss, Private Equity Fundraising Survey, April 2024, pages 7 and 10–11. Author report hosted by Private Equity Law Report. Source
  8. New Jersey Division of Investment, Bain Capital Fund XIV, investment report dated January 23, 2025, page 4. Class A and Class B management fees, performance fees, and hurdles. Source
  9. Connecticut Office of the Treasurer, Investment Advisory Council meeting materials, January 14, 2026, PDF page 40. Bregal Sagemount V-B summary of terms. Source
  10. New Jersey Division of Investment, Tenex Capital Partners IV, investment report dated April 19, 2024, page 4. Fund IV-A terms, distinct from the separate co-investment account. Source
  11. Connecticut Office of the Treasurer, Investment Advisory Council meeting materials, May 13, 2026, PDF page 92. WCAS XV key fund terms and fee discounts. Source
  12. New Jersey Division of Investment, Stellex Capital Partners III, investment report dated April 24, 2025, page 4. Fund terms and commitment-size discount. Source
  13. CVC PES SICAV, Prospectus, September 2025. CVC-PE sub-fund, Class B; share-class and fee schedules, pages 213–214 and 220; subscription charges, sections 5.4 and 10.4. Source

This guide is educational and is not an offer to sell securities or personalized investment advice. Private investments are illiquid and can lose value. The applicable offering documents govern each investment.

Last updated on: September 15, 2026

Share:

Related Posts

Operating cash flow, reinvestment, and debt obligations shape distributions during ownership. Exit proceeds...
SPVs organize ownership in a private equity transaction. Understand the structure, investor rights,...
Compare equity check sizes, governance, and partnership requirements. A selected directory for independent...